Four early twentieth-century women—Florence Crawford, Mary Magdalena Tate, Aimee Semple McPherson, and Ida Robinson—stepped out of their places in the male-dominated Pentecostal movement, using their God-given gifts to establish four denominations—the Apostolic Faith Mission, the Church of the Living God Pillar and Ground of the Truth, the International Church of the Foursquare Gospel, and Mount Sinai Holy Church of America. These were not plaster saints; yet with their short-comings,  each unashamedly challenged sexism in the church and broader society to open doors for women’s full participation. Their stories are testimony to how Spirit-empowered women can succeed in arenas previously reserved for men.

Limited Liberty: The Legacy of Four Pentecostal Women Pioneers

SKU: 1806
  • Estrelda Alexander

  • Usually ships in 5-7 business days